Advertise on DISCO3.CO.UK
Forum · Gallery · Wiki · Shop · Sponsors
DISCO3.CO.UK > In Car Electronics (D3)

D4 Bluetooth module in D3
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 79 of 81 <123 ... 78 798081>
Drew0057
 


Member Since: 22 Sep 2021
Location: Devon
Posts: 5

England 2005 Discovery 3 TDV6 SE Manual Bali BlueDiscovery 3

Am starting to install d4 Bluetooth module will the freelander2 module do the same?? It looks identical apart from part numbers

Any help will be much appreciated 🤙🏻
  
Post #225289422nd Sep 2021 7:45 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Magnet6x6
 


Member Since: 09 Dec 2009
Location: Al Hamra, Oman
Posts: 165

Oman 2006 Discovery 3 4.4 V8 HSE Auto Cairns BlueDiscovery 3

Motolab wrote:

Regarding bluetooth streaming....
I use a bluetooth device similar to this...
https://www.ebay.nl/itm/193832664600
Using the aux, will do the job for 5 quid Wink

You can mount it behind a panel and you never see it again Wink


Any chance of seeing how you've mounted yours?
 If we weren't supposed to eat meat why did God make animals taste so good?


Prospeed XRS, traxide, Mitch Hitch, life is good. 
 
Post #225296423rd Sep 2021 4:33 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Motolab
 


Member Since: 18 Oct 2019
Location: Sleen
Posts: 1820

Netherlands 2006 Discovery 3 TDV6 HSE Auto Zambezi SilverDiscovery 3

Sorry mate, i made no images..

But since it is tiny, you can easily store it behind the existing aux panel..
Using a 12v-5v adapter (are tiny and cheap also ) for the needed 5v
Then wire it in the aux input internally or use a short cable to the board output with the appropriate jackplug and plug this in the aux…


Hope this helps…
 Best regards
Harold

Always looking for Pre '55's & Pre war British Motorcycles! knowing or having one for sale? PM please. I visit the UK 6 times a year

Ps. I edit my texts quite often, english is not my native language, so I will edit My “typo’s” etc. Wink 
 
Post #225297223rd Sep 2021 8:06 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Magnet6x6
 


Member Since: 09 Dec 2009
Location: Al Hamra, Oman
Posts: 165

Oman 2006 Discovery 3 4.4 V8 HSE Auto Cairns BlueDiscovery 3

Motolab wrote:
You can mount it behind a panel and you never see it again Wink


Thanks, the size wasn't obvious from the web page
 If we weren't supposed to eat meat why did God make animals taste so good?


Prospeed XRS, traxide, Mitch Hitch, life is good. 
 
Post #225340925th Sep 2021 10:18 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
TheOneAndOnlyNikolaus
 


Member Since: 13 Jul 2008
Location: Vienna
Posts: 140

Austria 2005 Discovery 3 4.4 V8 HSE Auto Tonga GreenDiscovery 3
D4 module in D3 - iPhone does not find car Bluetooth

Have changed my Disco3 BT module years ago to the D4 BT module and everything worked fine for years until I changed my iPhone today to a new device.
Now my iPhone does not seem to see the car Bluetooth anymore and does not want to connect. Car Radio says "phone connected" on startup so the car seems to see the module.

Any idea what I can do to get my beloved BT connectivity back into my D3?

Thanks in advance for any help!

Nikolaus
  
Post #227592730th Jan 2022 4:01 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Motolab
 


Member Since: 18 Oct 2019
Location: Sleen
Posts: 1820

Netherlands 2006 Discovery 3 TDV6 HSE Auto Zambezi SilverDiscovery 3

If it says, “phone connected” that is what is is, the phone is connected to the bluetooth module..
Is is not a message that the nokia module is connected to the car… because that is by default…

BUT is it possible your old phone still connects? So your new one won’t?

If your car is on the drive way and your old one in your house and “on” it still will connect Wink

You need to remove your old phone also… maybe the memory is full, i think 3 is max?
 Best regards
Harold

Always looking for Pre '55's & Pre war British Motorcycles! knowing or having one for sale? PM please. I visit the UK 6 times a year

Ps. I edit my texts quite often, english is not my native language, so I will edit My “typo’s” etc. Wink 
 
Post #227594830th Jan 2022 5:36 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
TheOneAndOnlyNikolaus
 


Member Since: 13 Jul 2008
Location: Vienna
Posts: 140

Austria 2005 Discovery 3 4.4 V8 HSE Auto Tonga GreenDiscovery 3
I feel so stupid

Harold,

Thanks for your tip - indeed my old iPhone was switched on and I had loaded the bag with the old phone into the car prior to entering myself...

Now with only one phone in the car pairing was no issue.

Bow down thanks again for your help Bow down

Nikolaus
  
Post #227597530th Jan 2022 7:10 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Motolab
 


Member Since: 18 Oct 2019
Location: Sleen
Posts: 1820

Netherlands 2006 Discovery 3 TDV6 HSE Auto Zambezi SilverDiscovery 3

Thumbs Up

Keep in mind, that if you do not remove your old phone from the memory, it will connect again as soon as it is turned on again (and the motor is started) since it is the highest “ranking” phone (the earlyest paired phone is the primary one. As i remember it…
 Best regards
Harold

Always looking for Pre '55's & Pre war British Motorcycles! knowing or having one for sale? PM please. I visit the UK 6 times a year

Ps. I edit my texts quite often, english is not my native language, so I will edit My “typo’s” etc. Wink 
 
Post #227600930th Jan 2022 9:34 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Kevin7872
 


Member Since: 25 Jan 2022
Location: Solihull
Posts: 1

United Kingdom 2006 Discovery 3 TDV6 HSE Auto Barolo BlackDiscovery 3
Bluetooth for D3

hello, my daughter's Discovery 3 has audio problems with phone calls using an iPhone 12 connected to the cars bluetooth. I'm looking for the best way to fix the problem and fitting the D4 bluetooth seems to be straightforward. Before buying a D4 BT module, I would appreciate any advice whether this is still the best method or is there another way. I'm not afraid to use a soldering iron! All advice greatly appreciated.
  
Post #230763214th Sep 2022 3:48 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Pete K
 


Member Since: 15 Jan 2016
Location: GL
Posts: 10389

England 2005 Discovery 3 TDV6 HSE Auto Rimini RedDiscovery 3

So for clarity. On the 2 row connector.

+12v 31
Ground 15

(I'm always confused if it's the battery or 'infotainment on' supply)

It says above, power from fuse 58 (active while car awake)
(seams to be battery when fitted to D4).
I guess either work.
  
Post #233043318th Mar 2023 12:36 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Pete K
 


Member Since: 15 Jan 2016
Location: GL
Posts: 10389

England 2005 Discovery 3 TDV6 HSE Auto Rimini RedDiscovery 3

Well I finally caught up with the last decade.

Fitted one to my RRS, on the cheap.
Removed the traffic module as it was no use with my D4 display. Used the optical connection for the Bluetooth.
Found the infotainment power supply directly below it, on the greenyblue wire, so tapped into that.


Click image to enlarge


power connector available on AliExpress
Search for 32 pin connector. Select grey.


Only problem is, incoming calls just display the raw phone number and not name from address book.
Any thoughts on that ?
 

Last edited by Pete K on 14th Apr 2023 6:06 pm. Edited 2 times in total 
Post #233131325th Mar 2023 6:15 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Motolab
 


Member Since: 18 Oct 2019
Location: Sleen
Posts: 1820

Netherlands 2006 Discovery 3 TDV6 HSE Auto Zambezi SilverDiscovery 3

No joke, but try another day… Big Cry

When i first had that configuration it changed day by day… now it is quite stable and i “always” see the adress book name both on the central D4 display AND in the display right in front of you between te revcounter and speedo
 Best regards
Harold

Always looking for Pre '55's & Pre war British Motorcycles! knowing or having one for sale? PM please. I visit the UK 6 times a year

Ps. I edit my texts quite often, english is not my native language, so I will edit My “typo’s” etc. Wink 
 
Post #233131725th Mar 2023 7:01 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Pete K
 


Member Since: 15 Jan 2016
Location: GL
Posts: 10389

England 2005 Discovery 3 TDV6 HSE Auto Rimini RedDiscovery 3

Thanks.

Does you voice button work? I set the ccf for the Bluetooth to host, but still not working
  
Post #233132925th Mar 2023 10:16 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Motolab
 


Member Since: 18 Oct 2019
Location: Sleen
Posts: 1820

Netherlands 2006 Discovery 3 TDV6 HSE Auto Zambezi SilverDiscovery 3

Tbh….. i only use my iphone to dail…..although all the adressbook records are copied into the LR systems… i did find it difficult to select certain records… especially when persons have more phonenumbers than just one (mobile, home, work)

As i don’t like the hassle while driving… i choose dailing on the phone itself now everytime…
My phone holder is next to the D4 display….

Regarding voice button, you mean the red&green buttons on the wheel?
The do “something” sure, but i never use them… i know they kind off “ work” since i have hit them accidentally and the system did react somehow.. (was a long time ago though)
 Best regards
Harold

Always looking for Pre '55's & Pre war British Motorcycles! knowing or having one for sale? PM please. I visit the UK 6 times a year

Ps. I edit my texts quite often, english is not my native language, so I will edit My “typo’s” etc. Wink 
 
Post #233133225th Mar 2023 10:54 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Pete K
 


Member Since: 15 Jan 2016
Location: GL
Posts: 10389

England 2005 Discovery 3 TDV6 HSE Auto Rimini RedDiscovery 3

I meant the voice button on the left of the steering wheel.
Having looked through this thread, the D4 BT doesn't support Voice. and neither does the D4 Nav.

I think my phone book problem is down to numbers stored in my phone with country code infront of it.
  
Post #233137426th Mar 2023 11:43 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Display posts from the last:  
Post Reply Back to top
Page 79 of 81 <123 ... 78 798081>
Jump to:  
Previous Topic | Next Topic >


Posting Rules
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



DISCO3.CO.UK Copyright © 2004-2024 Futuranet Ltd & Martin Lewis
DISCO3.CO.UK RSS Feed - All Forums

DISCO3.CO.UK is independent and not affiliated to Land Rover.
Switch to Mobile Site