Forum · Gallery · Wiki · Shop · Sponsors
DISCO3.CO.UK > Technical (D3)

Weight Distribution Hitch Not To Be Used
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
irobbie

Australia 2006 Discovery 3 TDV6 SE Auto Chawton WhiteDiscovery 3
Weight Distribution Hitch Not To Be Used

Taking a Disco3 for a tow test tomorrow and have been told by the salesman that a weight distribution hitch must not be used. He says it interferes with the car's systems and is not recommended by Landrover.

I rang Landrover Australia today and they could only say that they have not tested such a device and therefore recommend against using them! They could not give me a technical reason for the recommendation and refered me back to the dealer.('Confused')

I've been using a weight distribution system for the last 5 years and believe that it has a significant positive impact when towing, so I'm wondering what is the reason behind Landrover's recommendation, and what are the downsides of going ahead and using a weight distribution hitch with a Disco3? I'm not saying that Landrover is wrong, just interested in understanding the reasons for their stance.

Post #5970523rd May 2006 8:35 am
LeighW
D3 Decade 

Australia 2006 Discovery 3 TDV6 S Auto Bonatti GreyDiscovery 3

Hi irobbie, LRA must have not read the manufacturer's manual.

On page 190 in the chapter headed Towing of the 2006 Discovery 3 Owners Manual it states "Caution: An equalising or other form of weight distributing hitch should NOT be used with your vehicle."

Whilst I haven't personally used an equalising hitch, I have known many to swear by them (particularly the Hayman Reese brand).

I can only assume that the Discovery has such a finely tuned air suspension that is computer controlled (including the strange cast iron pendulum weights at the rear in front of the bumper) and the weight distribution hitch must upset that balance.

Any Land Rover engineer who knows the real reason can jump in here without offending anyone.
 LeighW