Forum · Gallery · Wiki · Shop · Sponsors
DISCO3.CO.UK > Faults & Fixes (D3)

Hanbrake Failure
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 10 of 18 <123 ... 91011 ... 161718>
karlosbu

United Kingdom 2013 Discovery 4 3.0 SDV6 HSE Auto Santorini BlackDiscovery 4

Could be the case for sure.

I am no expert but from my experience I think the squealing starts when the system goes out of adjustment for whatever reason. The problem is that it seems the module has a weakness and wont last long once it goes into screaming mode, you may be lucky and cleaning / adjusting the system may fix it but be prepared as both times this happened to me the entire system needed replacing as the screaming had knackered the module. (The second time as I was paying I got them to replace rear disks, pads and shoes as it was in bits anyway)

Good luck...

Post #100581119th Nov 2012 4:52 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Send e-mail Reply with quote
sean 471

United Kingdom 2007 Discovery 3 TDV6 Pursuit LE Auto Java BlackDiscovery 3

told a few weeks ago that basically the arm extends itself too much as wear takes place.
Best advice i recieved is not to use and if i do release the handbrake with the button rather than automatically.

Post #100581419th Nov 2012 4:54 pm
SLD3CT

United Kingdom 2005 Discovery 3 TDV6 S Manual Izmir BlueDiscovery 3

Thanks.......

I think first i will try replacing the shoes, cleaning it all up and seeing if that fixes it before i replace the module seeing as a new module is over £400.

After i change the shoes will anything need resetting/ re aligning or will it just self adjust to the new shoes.

Post #100582719th Nov 2012 5:05 pm
SLD3CT

Thanks.......

I think first i will try replacing the shoes, cleaning it all up and seeing if that fixes it before i replace the module seeing as a new module is over £400.

After i change the shoes will anything need resetting/ re aligning or will it just self adjust to the new shoes.