Forum · Gallery · Wiki · Shop · Sponsors
DISCO3.CO.UK > Off Roading & Green Laning

Offroading Technique & Terrain Response
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
NitrOx

United States 2008 LR3 4.4 V8 HSE Auto Java BlackLR3
Offroading Technique & Terrain Response

I'm new to wheeling and use an LR3. I have a question of when and when not to use HDC in technical sections.

1. When descending a steep technical (loose, rutted, rocky) section I normally use the following settings: low range, 1st gear, HDC on. What do you do?

2. Climbing technical sections I do: Low range, 2nd gear, HDC on. I sometimes leave the transmission on auto.

3. What Terrain Response setting do you use for our local terrain? I tend to use mud/ruts most of the time.

Looking forward to your thoughts on my questions and settings.

Last edited by NitrOx on 9th May 2017 4:17 am. Edited 2 times in total 
Post #18127808th May 2017 11:56 pm
garrycol

Australia 

Traction Control is on all the time and has no manual control from the driver (the electronics can adjust it).

I assume you actually mean Terrain Response (TR) setting. Without going into detail set the TR to the appropriate setting on the dial for the terrain you are in - eg Grass, Sand, Mud Rutts and Rock Crawl - noting that if all else fails use Rock Crawl as that best mimicks a "normal" 4wd.

I personally do not use HDC as I find low range 1st or 2nd gear Command Shift works as well without all the shuddering and noise but it is my choice - if nor familiar with offroad work I would definitely have it on - you can leave it on all the time when offroad but when slowing down if may kick in.

When offroad I always select low range - the car still has enough speed when in 6th gear and it is already engaged if needed.