Forum · Gallery · Wiki · Shop · Sponsors
DISCO3.CO.UK > Camping, Caravanning and Holidays

Hook-Up tripping problems advice please
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
highbayrack

United Kingdom 2014 Discovery 4 3.0 SDV6 HSE Auto LuxorDiscovery 4
Hook-Up tripping problems advice please

We have put our new My14 caravan on a seasonal pitch this year, just by way of a change. But having been caravanning for years I'm always mindful not to overload the system and turn heaters off especially before using a electric kettle, also not being an electrician I'm confused at the problems we are getting this weekend.

The site we are on - all Hook-Up's are 16amp, or so they claim. at the weekend being much colder we had one 2Kw fan heater only on in the awning which kept tripping the power, but not in the van circuit breakers, but at the hook-up point itself. I tried a couple of spare heaters just in case the first one was sensitive or faulty but others were the same result.

I sat there and watched this trip with no additional load being applied in the van, I.E no one had turned on a kettle or the microwave and as the van is new with all LED lighting and the only thing on in the van was the fridge/freezer, the colour running off 12 volt and the Alde CH running off the gas . The response from the acting site manager was - ah well it will be your heater then - which I doubt Shocked

On the other hand, some friends of ours just also moved onto a different part of the site this weekend and walking into their caravan/awning was like going into your local branch of Curry's/PC world they had so much running off the one 16am outlet with no problems I couldn't believe it, and they said the only time theirs tripped out was when they turned on the kettle and forgot everything else was on.