Advertise on DISCO3.CO.UK
Forum · Gallery · Wiki · Shop · Sponsors
DISCO3.CO.UK > Africa

Help...!Transmission Range Change Not Available
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
JR
 


Member Since: 23 Jul 2009
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 76

South Africa 2005 Discovery 3 TDV6 SE Auto Alaska WhiteDiscovery 3
Help...!Transmission Range Change Not Available

Hi everyone.

The following message has popped up on my info screen: Transmission Range Change Not Available: It relates to the high / low range!

Leading up to this - my battery dropped voltage to 6.5v the night before last. After charging for 24 hours, I started the car and the above message appeared. I took the precaution of replacing the battery this morning with a new one, but the problem persists.

I've also been through all the fuses, but all are fine!

Does anyone know what the problem is - and can I fix it myself? I only ask this, because we're going on leave this Monday and hope to hit the road at 05h00...!

Any and all suggestions will be greatfully accepted and tried - if not done already... I'm in a right old pickle here! Sad

Thanks

Peter[/u]
 It seems, that the older I get, the faster I was...!  
Post #73357818th Dec 2010 6:03 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
JF Lux
 


Member Since: 08 Sep 2007
Location: A little country in Europe
Posts: 3523

Luxembourg 2008 Discovery 3 TDV6 HSE Auto Java BlackDiscovery 3

alternator ?

or do you have something running in the vehicle that is draining the battery ? Do you have an auxiliary battery with split-charge system - that could have developed a fault ?
 The next American ex-pat that calls it a "truck" is going to find out what 2.7 tons feels like on their foot...

Club "yes, I too have had the EGR's replaced..."
Club "yes, I too have had the compressor replaced..."
Club "yes, I too once had the car at the dealer for a couple of weeks nearly 4 weeks over 4 weeks...5 weeks"
Club "yes, I too have had EPB failure..."
Club "yes, I too get mysterious bings and bongs..." 
 
Post #73358018th Dec 2010 6:06 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
JR
 


Member Since: 23 Jul 2009
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 76

South Africa 2005 Discovery 3 TDV6 SE Auto Alaska WhiteDiscovery 3

Hi JF.

No on all accounts - barring the charge rate of the alternator, which is good.
 It seems, that the older I get, the faster I was...!  
Post #73358818th Dec 2010 6:11 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
hls
 


Member Since: 29 May 2009
Location: Zwavelpoort, Pretoria
Posts: 263

South Africa 2009 Discovery 3 TDV6 HSE Auto Atacama SandDiscovery 3

I had this error message appear once while I was in Botswana. I switched the ignition off and on again. The error message was cleared and has not returned since (21000km ago). I have switched between high and low range a number of times since the message without any problems.
 

Last edited by hls on 23rd Dec 2010 5:12 pm. Edited 1 time in total 
Post #73392119th Dec 2010 4:48 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
D4JWW
 


Member Since: 20 Oct 2009
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1318

South Africa 2009 Discovery 3 TDV6 GS Manual Stornoway GreyDiscovery 3

JR where you heading, can only help by diagnosis test with fault Mate? Well thats if you heading my way, 3hours up the west coast?
 A few mods... and keeping it all running...Faultmate MSV2
MY09EGR's blanked Thanks Bellautos, BAS 
 
Post #73625523rd Dec 2010 2:32 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
pjbnet
 


Member Since: 05 Dec 2010
Location: Warwickshire
Posts: 29

2006 Discovery 3 TDV6 SE Auto Java BlackDiscovery 3

Hi - Mine did the same yesterday a couple of times. Found that if I had the car in snow mode it wouldnt change to low range. I stopped the car - restarted it and made sure I had all the terrain response normal then engaged low range. It went straight in without a problem. once in low range it let me select snow mode and didnt complain at me again.
 2006 SE - Java Black - Auto  
Post #73626423rd Dec 2010 2:57 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
karoosafari
 


Member Since: 24 May 2010
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 3

South Africa 2005 Discovery 3 TDV6 SE Auto Alaska WhiteDiscovery 3

I have just had mine fixed. I had the range change problem as well as special programs not available and restarting did not clear these messages. The problem was relating to excessive corrosion on the ECU behind the battery due to water damage over an extended period of time. They tried cleaning the contacts first and although it resolved some of the faults, it did not fix the range change problem. Replaced the ECU and all is well again.
  
Post #74760416th Jan 2011 12:40 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
jelly9
 


Member Since: 11 Aug 2016
Location: dorset
Posts: 7

United Kingdom 2006 Discovery 3 TDV6 HSE Auto Unknown ColourDiscovery 3

Hi JR, did get this fixed? was it just the switch? i have the some problem.

thanks
  
Post #169427220th Aug 2016 4:34 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Post Reply
Display posts from the last:  
Post Reply Back to top
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  
Previous Topic | Next Topic >


Posting Rules
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



DISCO3.CO.UK Copyright © 2004-2019 Futuranet Ltd & Martin Lewis
DISCO3.CO.UK RSS Feed - All Forums

DISCO3.CO.UK is independent and not affiliated to Land Rover.
Switch to Mobile Site