DISCO3.CO.UK > Technical (D4)

TDV6 2.7 High fuel rail temp
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
duncan_w

Australia 2010 Discovery 4 TDV6 SE Auto Stornoway GreyDiscovery 4
TDV6 2.7 High fuel rail temp

Hi,

I've been chasing a problem on my 2010 Disco 4 for a few months now, my scan tool is throwing circuit high faults on the Fuel Rail Temp Sensor.

So I ran the data logger and when the engine is cold, it's reading 74C+ sometimes higher, depending on the ambient temp. When I unplug the fuel rail temp sensor the reading goes down to 50C.

The car is down on power and throwing some smoke out of the back under hard acceleration, according to the workshop manual when the fuel temp goes above 83C then the engine 'derates'. So it reduces the fuel pressure and I think I read somewhere that it changes the injector spray pattern. The result is performance loss.

When I unplug the fuel temp sensor and drive with it disconnected, it does throw a performance restricted error on the dash, but it feels no different to drive. i.e still low on power, but no worse than with the sensor plugged in.

According to the diagnosis steps the resistance between the power signal and ground should be above 100k Ohms, when I test it's reading 1K Ohm which according to the test procedure indicates that I have a ground to power short.

However, I have removed the wiring loom and inspected the wires and it all seems fine. When I put a multimeter on the pins at the PCM (ECU) I get zero resistance.

If I put a 270K Ohm resistor between the signal and ground wires, the temp on the data logger reads 67C. The workshop manual states that when the temp goes up, the resistance goes down.

When I load the wires with more resistance the temp goes up instead of down, so I'm at a loss what's happening there.

So, two questions :

1. Can anyone else verify that when they unplug their fuel temp sensor, can they check what the baseline temp is.