DISCO3.CO.UK > In Car Electronics (D4)

Reverse camera blurry (D4)
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
wertert

United Kingdom 2016 Discovery 4 3.0 SDV6 HSE Auto Santorini BlackDiscovery 4
Reverse camera blurry (D4)

Hi All

I'm brand new to the D4 having picked my new (2016) one up on Friday. I'm also really pleased to have found this forum! We had a VW transporter before and having access to a supportive forum was always really helpful when facing small (or large) problems.

Really like the new car but there are a few small issues which I would like to get sorted on an otherwise lovely car.

The reverse camera image is really blurry over about 50-60% of the screen. It doesn't appear to be dirt or moisture related. The outer glass lens cover may be scratched/damaged as it feels slightly rough to the touch. If you catch it in the right light you can see some slight discolouration towards the edges of the lens.

I'm thinking either some kind of abrasive polish on the lens or perhaps a new camera altogether ?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Post #218099019th Oct 2020 10:51 am
wertert

United Kingdom 2016 Discovery 4 3.0 SDV6 HSE Auto Santorini BlackDiscovery 4

Anyone? Any ideas where I could source a replacement camera ?

Thanks.

Post #218112619th Oct 2020 10:30 pm
RATA1

United Kingdom 2014 Discovery 4 3.0 SDV6 XXV LE Auto Causeway GreyDiscovery 4

Hello.
Seems like you have already found the source with the lens scratches? Pretty aggressive cleaning from the PO I would say for that type of damage. Sure it isn't damage that has allowed moisture in that is fogging it? My cameras are crap from the factory so I wouldn't notice as I have 100% blur on all 5!
For a replacement try eBay or a site sponsor. No idea what the part number is but I am sure someone will be along soon who might. Failing that Google Smile
 In today's world, if you contribute something, you don't contribute enough. If you contribute nothing, you receive everything.

2014 Discovery XXV