DISCO3.CO.UK > My Discovery 4

newbie to site and new d4
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Castell

United Kingdom 2010 Discovery 4 3.0 TDV6 HSE Auto Unknown ColourDiscovery 4
newbie to site and new d4

Folks

I am not new to discos (had a couple of D3s) but a new poster on the site.

I found the site a few weeks ago when I was looking at changing my 57 D3 HSE for a D4 and wanted some guidance. I found the various posts helpful and am appreciative.

We use our landies ( apart from Disco we have a 09 County Crew Cab and a 09 HCPU) for work as much as family. The D4 will be used as much offroad on shoot days as on road.

Anyhow the D4 HSE has been here a week and has had a good thrashing offroad as well as on road. Now I am no expert on offroading or indeed cars but I have had a number and refering to various posts that gave me guidance my thoughts/advice in return

1. A D4 or a D3.5. I agree with the later as it is an uplift rather than a significant departure. That aside the bit under the bonnet is certainly differant.
2. Better looks - in my opinion no - the D3 is more symetrical and iconic. Bumpers looked much better as well as front grill on the D3.
3. Drives well?. Certainly the power is impressive and on road handling brilliant BUT is so comfortable its almost borring. Went a few miles offroad this evening over some tough ground and seemed much the same as the D3 -very able but standard tyres US in mud. Brakes are differant and I am still unsure as to which I prefer - in the next few days I need to try slamming them on to find out.
4. Black leather it is not but then it is not grey - rather a light matt lack.
5. auto dip headlights - rip them out in the country as you upset all and sundry whn they dip, you go round a bend - they come back on and the oncoming car thinks you are flashing at them !