DISCO3.CO.UK > In Car Electronics (D4)

Drl halo spotlights fittings question
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Wasson

2011 Discovery 4 3.0 SDV6 Landmark LE Auto Fuji WhiteDiscovery 4
Drl halo spotlights fittings question

Hi everyone,

Firstly I’m a complete novice at anything electrical so please go steady with me.

I’ve bought a set of drl/fog lights the fittings instructions are as follows.

‘The DRL is designed to turn on and off with the ignition like an OEM vehicle. On your old VW, it would have stayed on for an extended period of time as the wiring on nearly all VAG group vehicles is "CANBUS" (so it's slightly more intelligent and takes a little time for the system to shut down upon locking.) On our kit, are two wires to be connected. The Red wire (which controls DRL on & off) must be connected to an ignition live source, I generally advise using a fuse tap to save splicing into wires - available on eBay or Halfords. The Yellow wire can be connected to the headlight positive feed, this turns off the outer DRL ring when the headlights are switched on to meet MOT compliance.

There are modules on the market which will dim LED's and it would meet MOT compliance, but as the DRL is located in the location of the fog light it's advisable for them to turn off when the headlights are switched on (so as not to mistake from a distance having your fog lights on in clear weather.)

I tend to connect the Yellow switching wire to the actual dipped beam positive feed, so the DRL still illuminates when the the sidelights are switched on and only turns off when the dipped headlight beam is activated.‘

So all pretty straight forwards.

I take it there is only one yellow dipped beam wire coming from the back of the headlights?

Where do I take the live feed from? From another post someone had suggested the smog sensor as it’s stays on longer once the car is switched off and turns on when’s doors are opened etc which is exactly what i’d Like.