Advertise on DISCO3.CO.UK
Forum · Gallery · Wiki · Shop · Sponsors
DISCO3.CO.UK > Technical (D3)

Driving & Maintaining the Turbo
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 3 123>
NJSS

United Kingdom 2016 Discovery 4 3.0 SDV6 Landmark LE Auto Waitomo GreyDiscovery 4
Driving & Maintaining the Turbo

We are all aware of problems with the LR Turbo.

The question is how best to treat it when driving, and what (if any) routine preventative will prolong the life of the turbo.

When I was a pilot (PPL not CPL) I was always told that turbocharged engines should not be allowed after starting, save for a few seconds to allow oil to circulate to all parts of the engine - particularly in cold weather.

I was also told that before turning off the engine it should be allowed to idle for some time, so that the turbo cooled down - this allegedly reduced the build up of carbon in the turbo.

I have applied both these principles to all tubocharged cars I have owned, both petrol and diesel.

I would appreciate comments on the above from those younger & better informed that I.

On the preventative maintenance side I use Redex from time to time, & Forte on the mid service oil changes that my Indy does.

Might it be sensible to use "Subaru upper engine cleaner", in the USA & UK Seafoam, from time to time:-

http://www.ukseafoamseller.co.uk/

Also see this thread:-

http://www.disco3.co.uk/forum/topic68257.html

NJSS
 Am I Gammon or Woke ? - I neither know nor care.

2016 Discovery 4 Landmark
2011 Mercedes Benz SL350 (R230)
1973 MG B GT V8 - 3.9L John Eales engine, 5 speed R380 gearbox, since 1975.
1959 MGA roadster - 1.9L Peter Burgess Engine - 5 speed gearbox
Past LRs - Multiple FFRs, Discos & a Series I - some petrol, some diesel,
none Electric or H2 fuel cell - yet.
There are 10 types of people in this world: Those who understand binary, and those who don’t. 

Post #82442410th Aug 2011 9:57 am
amazing

China 2011 Discovery 4 3.0 SDV6 HSE Auto Santorini BlackDiscovery 4
turbo care