Advertise on DISCO3.CO.UK
Forum · Gallery · Wiki · Shop · Sponsors
DISCO3.CO.UK > Technical (D4)

beep...beep...beep EPB flashes
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
thomasz
 


Member Since: 01 Oct 2021
Location: Kulmbach
Posts: 73

Germany 2010 Discovery 4 TDV6 SE Manual Nara BronzeDiscovery 4
beep...beep...beep EPB flashes

D4, 2010, 2.7, manual gearbox:



EPB-light flashes and signals from dash.
No other messages.... no errors.

Any ideas?

Thomas
  
Post #228346814th Mar 2022 7:01 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
PROFSR G
 


Member Since: 06 Mar 2017
Location: Na znak solidarnosti
Posts: 4048

Ukraine 2009 Discovery 3 TDV6 Commercial XS Auto Stornoway GreyDiscovery 3

What are you using to read the fault codes?

If there's a fault indicated there has to be a code logged, you can't have one without the other!
 SLAVA UKRAINI

 
 
Post #228352915th Mar 2022 12:10 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
thomasz
 


Member Since: 01 Oct 2021
Location: Kulmbach
Posts: 73

Germany 2010 Discovery 4 TDV6 SE Manual Nara BronzeDiscovery 4

I use a IID-Tool.

But I think sometimes I have two faults, which I always ignore Rolling Eyes
Lost comm to transmission modul and lost comm to EPB-module.

The flashing light and signals come only occasionally, not always at startup.


Thomas
  
Post #228354215th Mar 2022 8:01 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
ph1ll
 


Member Since: 15 May 2020
Location: Worcestershire
Posts: 46

United Kingdom 2006 Discovery 3 TDV6 HSE Auto Java BlackDiscovery 3

I had a similar issue after a handbrake scream the other week. The beeps would go off on startup or whenever the wheels stopped turning (junctions etc).

I however had a C1A00-4B "parking brake control module" fault logged.

The handbrake was disabled whilst the code was logged.

Fix for me was to clear the codes and then pull up on handbrake button and hold for 5 seconds, hold off for 2 seconds, and then hold on for 5 seconds again.
  
Post #228354515th Mar 2022 8:43 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
thomasz
 


Member Since: 01 Oct 2021
Location: Kulmbach
Posts: 73

Germany 2010 Discovery 4 TDV6 SE Manual Nara BronzeDiscovery 4

Quote:
Fix for me was to clear the codes and then pull up on handbrake button and hold for 5 seconds, hold off for 2 seconds, and then hold on for 5 seconds again.


Wow - is this a LR-Routine?
Is worth a try....
  
Post #228354615th Mar 2022 8:46 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
PROFSR G
 


Member Since: 06 Mar 2017
Location: Na znak solidarnosti
Posts: 4048

Ukraine 2009 Discovery 3 TDV6 Commercial XS Auto Stornoway GreyDiscovery 3

thomasz wrote:
I use a IID-Tool.

But I think sometimes I have two faults, which I always ignore Rolling Eyes
Lost comm to transmission modul and lost comm to EPB-module.

The flashing light and signals come only occasionally, not always at startup.


Thomas


Check for "pending faults" it may just be the handbrake switch. (not uncommon) Thumbs Up
 SLAVA UKRAINI

 
 
Post #228355315th Mar 2022 9:32 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
thomasz
 


Member Since: 01 Oct 2021
Location: Kulmbach
Posts: 73

Germany 2010 Discovery 4 TDV6 SE Manual Nara BronzeDiscovery 4

Quote:
Check for "pending faults" it may just be the handbrake switch. (not uncommon)


What switch? In Console or a swith in EPB-Module on the rear axle?
  
Post #228356015th Mar 2022 10:15 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
PROFSR G
 


Member Since: 06 Mar 2017
Location: Na znak solidarnosti
Posts: 4048

Ukraine 2009 Discovery 3 TDV6 Commercial XS Auto Stornoway GreyDiscovery 3

Hand brake pull switch beside drivers seat. Check for the codes when the fault appears, or anything that might be "pending" You can select this in the GAP settings. Thumbs Up
 SLAVA UKRAINI

 
 
Post #228356415th Mar 2022 10:24 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
thomasz
 


Member Since: 01 Oct 2021
Location: Kulmbach
Posts: 73

Germany 2010 Discovery 4 TDV6 SE Manual Nara BronzeDiscovery 4

Quote:
or anything that might be "pending" You can select this in the GAP settings.


Really? How can I do that?
I've always read the errors from the menu in the app.
Is there a difference to "pending"?
  
Post #228356715th Mar 2022 10:27 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
PROFSR G
 


Member Since: 06 Mar 2017
Location: Na znak solidarnosti
Posts: 4048

Ukraine 2009 Discovery 3 TDV6 Commercial XS Auto Stornoway GreyDiscovery 3

As the PCM and other control modules monitor each system and component they will log faults as either confirmed or pending. This depends on the relative test cycle which differs between systems. If you have selected "pending faults" in your settings menu (status bit flags) these will be displayed. If not you will only see "actual faults" (confirmed) or whatever selections have been made from the list. Drive cycles are relative to some test reports whilst other cycles are used for other systems

Confirmed faults are represented by a joined chain link in the icon field at the top of the screen when a fault is displayed. Pending faults are represented by a broken chain link with a red stripe across the break in the link! It usually tells you the fault is pending if that is the case and has been previously selected!

Select "Faults" > select "Advanced" > "Status bit flags"> select "pending"> (or whatever protocol you want displayed) select "Apply" > select "Save" (I think, from a dwindling memory Laughing)

It's all in the manual if you take a look and is easy to set up. Thumbs Up
 SLAVA UKRAINI

 
 
Post #228357715th Mar 2022 11:29 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
thomasz
 


Member Since: 01 Oct 2021
Location: Kulmbach
Posts: 73

Germany 2010 Discovery 4 TDV6 SE Manual Nara BronzeDiscovery 4

Found it! Thumbs Up

Flasjhing/Signal does not always occur. I'll read it once the error is there. There is currently nothing in it.

Thomas
  
Post #228358915th Mar 2022 11:51 am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
PROFSR G
 


Member Since: 06 Mar 2017
Location: Na znak solidarnosti
Posts: 4048

Ukraine 2009 Discovery 3 TDV6 Commercial XS Auto Stornoway GreyDiscovery 3

It's a pending fault so and has not occurred on the last test cycle which is why it's not there!

Faulty hand brake switch or possibly the brake light switch. Thumbs Up
 SLAVA UKRAINI

 
 
Post #228359315th Mar 2022 12:02 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
thomasz
 


Member Since: 01 Oct 2021
Location: Kulmbach
Posts: 73

Germany 2010 Discovery 4 TDV6 SE Manual Nara BronzeDiscovery 4

I'll watch it....
  
Post #228359515th Mar 2022 12:09 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Post Reply
Display posts from the last:  
Post Reply Back to top
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  
Previous Topic | Next Topic >


Posting Rules
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



DISCO3.CO.UK Copyright © 2004-2022 Futuranet Ltd & Martin Lewis
DISCO3.CO.UK RSS Feed - All Forums

DISCO3.CO.UK is independent and not affiliated to Land Rover.
Switch to Mobile Site